7905 Big Bend Blvd., Webster Groves, MO 63119  314-738-9384
0 items - $0.00
Loading Events

Upcoming Events › Events for Kids

Find Events

Events List Navigation

October 2018

Children’s Author Andrea Beaty: “Rosie Revere and The Raucous Riveters”

October 6 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
The College School, 7825 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, 63119 United States

The beloved author of Ada Twist, Scientist; Rosie Revere, Engineer;and Iggy Peck, Architect has new adventures in store for Rosie and her friends! The Novel Neighbor and The College School are excited to partner in bringing the New York Times bestselling author to families in St. Louis! Join us on Saturday, October 6, from 10 AM – 12 PM, at The College School, where you can meet Ms. Beaty and hear all about her new series, “The Questioneers.” She will be discussing…

$15 – $20
Find out more

JUNIOR KIDS COMIC WORKSHOP with Mr. Todd

October 6 @ 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

JUNIOR KIDS COMIC WORKSHOP with Mr. Todd SATURDAY, OCT.6 to OCT.20 (3:30-4:30pm each week) THREE WEEK COURSE AGES: 6-7 – $30 PER CHILD ALL MATERIALS INCLUDED Do you want your child to be able to focus their creativity into something more productive than scribbling on your furniture? Then this course is for you! This THREE WEEK workshop for 6-7 year olds will teach them the basic of basics in comic creation. Facial expressions, speech bubbles, character creation, one panel comics…

Find out more

Children’s Author Ryan Higgins – “We Don’t Eat Our Classmates”

October 7 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
St. Louis County Library – Headquarters, 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63131 United States

It’s the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can’t wait to meet her classmates. But it’s hard to make human friends when they’re so darn delicious! That is, until Penelope gets a taste of her own medicine and finds she may not be at the top of the food chain after all. . . . Readers will gobble up this hilarious new story from award-winning author-illustrator Ryan T. Higgins. Author presentation will be followed by book signing.…

Find out more

October Tween Book Club

October 12 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Our Tween Book Club is a great club for readers ages 9-12! We meet the first second Friday of every month from 4:30 – 5:30. This month’s title is: Mascot by Antony John. You may pickup the book in store or ONLINE. Description: This witty, heartfelt story about perseverance in the face of adversity is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio, Cammie McGovern, and John David Anderson. Noah Savino has been stuck in a wheelchair for months. He hates…

Find out more

Author Cressida Cowell – “Wizards of Once: Twice Magic”

October 15 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
St. Louis County Library – Daniel Boone Branch, 300 Clarkson Rd
Ellisville, MO 63011 United States

From the bestselling author of “How to Train Your Dragon” comes an exciting high-adventure series—set in a magical time full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This was once the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who had been taught since birth to hate each other like poison. But now, the boy Wizard and girl Warrior have been brought together in the Badwoods and they have witnessed the shocking consequences of the Stone That Takes Away…

Find out more

Kid’s Halloween Sleepover @ The Novel Neighbor!

October 19 @ 6:00 pm - October 20 @ 8:00 am
Next Door @ The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

This will be one of those experiences they talk about forever – a night spent sleeping in a bookstore! Activities Include: Crafts and activities Movie Pizza & Snacks Storytime with author Ryan Nusbickel (Cloudy With A Chance Of Toasted Ravioli) A copy of Nusbickel’s new St. Louis Halloween Joke book for kids Instructors: Moira Smith (Webster University) Sarah Hassing (The College School FAQ What ages? 5 – 11 What do they need to bring? Sleeping bag/mat (please no inflatable beds,…

$65
Find out more

(HOW TO DRAW) SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS (NEW Class!)

October 24 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

(HOW TO DRAW) SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS (NEW Class!) SUNDAY, OCT.14 (1-2pm) ONE DAY / ONE HOUR CLASS AGES: 7-11 – $10 PER CHILD ALL MATERIALS INCLUDED A new class by popular demand, voted on by children in all of my previous classes! This drawing class will teach step by step instruction on how to draw popular characters from the cartoon, SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS. Charaters Taught: TBD Limited seating, sign up ASAP! Registration OPENS 9/9/18 REGISTRATION PAGE (external site) NOTE: Mr. Todd is…

Find out more

Middle Grade Author Sarah Mylnowski – “Whatever After: Seeing Red”

October 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
St. Louis County Library – Daniel Boone Branch, 300 Clarkson Rd
Ellisville, MO 63011 United States

Sarah Mylnowski’s bestselling Whatever After series follows the adventures of siblings Abby and Jonah, whose magic mirror leads them into different fairy tales, from Snow White to Rapunzel to the Little Mermaid. In “Seeing Red,” Abby and Jonah are off to visit their Nana, who knows ALL about fairy tales. But things go wrong when the siblings wind up in the classic fairy tale of “Little Red Riding Hood.” Will they escape the big, bad wolf in time? Hijinks, hilarity,…

Find out more

(HOW TO DRAW) MONSTERS with Mr. Todd

October 30 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

(HOW TO DRAW) MONSTERS with Mr. Todd TUESDAY, OCT.30 (6-7pm) ONE DAY / ONE HOUR CLASS AGES: 6-11 – $10 PER CHILD ALL MATERIALS INCLUDED This class teaches children how to draw cartoon/comic style monsters (not scary) and will work on the basics of building a character out of shapes, the different kinds of mouths and eyes and other accessories, different techniques for texturing and extras like wings, tails and horns. We will also take inspiration from real life animal…

Find out more

November 2018

HOW TO DRAW CHARACTERS with Mr. Todd

November 3 @ 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

HOW TO DRAW CHARACTERS with Mr. Todd SATURDAY, NOV.3 to NOV.17 (3:30-4:30pm each week) THREE WEEK CLASS AGES: 9+ – $40 PER CHILD ALL MATERIALS INCLUDED This class focuses on just drawing characters, whether they are cartoony or realistic is up to the child as the same techniques apply to both! A lot of drawing principles will be taught, including facial expressions and how to draw facial proportions properly, as well as the ‘how many heads high’ scale, height/weight variations,…

Find out more
+ Export Events