7905 Big Bend Blvd., Webster Groves, MO 63119  314-738-9384
0 items - $0.00
Loading Events

Past Events › Bookclub

Find Events

Events List Navigation

June 2018

June Neighbor Book Club

June 11, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Boulevard
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

Killers Of The Osage Moon by David Grann Book Description: From New Yorker staff writer David Grann, New York Times best-selling author of The Lost City of Z, a twisting, haunting true-life murder mystery about one of the most monstrous crimes in American history. In the 1920s the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Indian nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, they rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions, and sent their children to study in…

Find out more

July 2018

July Novel Neighbor Book Club

July 9, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Next Door @ The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

This month’s title is “Less” – the Pulitzer Prize winning novel by Andrew Sean Greer. Summary: You are a failed novelist about to turn fifty. A wedding invitation arrives in the mail: your boyfriend of the past nine years is engaged to someone else. You can’t say yes–it would be too awkward–and you can’t say no–it would look like defeat. On your desk are a series of invitations to half-baked literary events around the world. QUESTION: How do you arrange…

Find out more

September 2018

Monthly Tween Book Club

September 14, 2018 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Next Door @ The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

Calling all book-loving tweens!! Come join other 9-12 year olds in reading and discussing a different book each month. For the first meeting, September 14th, no required book – just come ready to share your favorite summer reads! Book club meets the second Friday of each month.

Find out more

October 2018

October Novel Neighbor Book Club

October 8, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Next Door @ The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

This month’s selection is City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris Summary: Appointed to conquer the “crime capital of the world,” the first police chief of Paris faces an epidemic of murder in the late 1600s. Assigned by Louis XIV, Nicolas de La Reynie begins by clearing the streets of filth and installing lanterns throughout Paris, turning it into the City of Light. The fearless La Reynie pursues criminals through the labyrinthine…

Find out more

October Tween Book Club

October 12, 2018 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Our Tween Book Club is a great club for readers ages 9-12! We meet the first second Friday of every month from 4:30 – 5:30. This month’s title is: Mascot by Antony John. You may pickup the book in store or ONLINE. Description: This witty, heartfelt story about perseverance in the face of adversity is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio, Cammie McGovern, and John David Anderson. Noah Savino has been stuck in a wheelchair for months. He hates…

Find out more

December 2018

December Novel Neighbor Book Club

December 10, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Monday, December 10th @ 7pm This month’s book club title is Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners by Gretchen Anthony   Summary: A formidable matriarch learns the hard way that no family is perfect in this witty, sparkling debut novelDearest loved ones, far and near–evergreen tidings from the Baumgartners! Violet Baumgartner has opened her annual holiday letter the same way for the past three decades. And this year she’s going to throw her husband, Ed, a truly perfect retirement party, one worthy of…

Find out more

January 2019

Tween Book Club

January 11 @ 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Every month we invite your tween readers to join us for a book club tailored just for them! Book club is held the second Friday of each month at 4:30 pm and no registration is required! The next book club will be held on February 8th and the book selection is Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend The book can be ordered online for store pickup HERE.  

Find out more

January Novel Neighbor Book Club

January 14 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Next Door @ The Novel Neighbor, 7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves, MO 63119 United States

This month’s book club title is Heresy by Melissa Lenhardt. IMPORTANT – this month’s book club will start at 6:30pm instead of 7pm.   Summary: In this novel told through journal entries, interviews, and newspaper columns, uncover the hidden history of America’s first and only all-female gang in the American West.   “Readers who relish an unusual narrative structure will enjoy this unique take on the traditional western.” – Booklist Margaret Parker and Hattie LaCour never intended to turn outlaw. After being…

Find out more

February 2019

February Novel Neighbor Bookclub

February 11 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

This month’s book club title is The Power by Naomi Alderman. Summary: What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?   “The Power is our era’s The Handmaid’s Tale.” –Ron Charles, Washington Post   *WINNER OF THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION*   One of the New York Times’s Ten Best Books of the Year One of President Obama’s favorite reads of the Year A Los Angeles Times Best Book of the Year One of the Washington Post’s Ten Best Books of the Year An NPR Best Book of…

Find out more

March 2019

April Tween Book Club

March 11 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Every month we invite your tween readers to join us for a book club tailored just for them! Book club is held the second Friday of each month at 4:30 pm and no registration is required! The next book club will be held on April 12th and the book selection is Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire by John August. The book can be ordered online for store pickup HERE.  

Find out more
+ Export Events